See also: • List of People • Toxic Drums at Jazz Concert • More about Egils Straume
Egils Straume more about Egils...  
egils straume-yellow Egils Straume was born in Latvia.  Latvia was part of the USSR back then.  Egils has always been passionate about music and he studied as a postgraduate at the Moscow State Conservatoire.  Since then he has become a well known, if not famous, Jazz musician.  egils straume-sax He has performed in many countries around the world and has composed a lot of music.  He has organized the Latvian International Jazz festival and the New Music Forum in Riga.  He has worked with many famous jazz musicians including David Sanborn, Joe Zawinull, Michael Brecker, Igor Butman, Grower Washington Jnr., Jan Garbarek and many more..  Some of his work is clasified as jazz/fusion although he is far broader than that in his range of styles and compositions.  He has composed and performed on over 30 CDs with a multitude of different artists and many different styles of music ranging from classical concerto to jazz.  He is also described as euro-jazz, progressive and experimental.
egils straume-yellow He has produced numerous works including an opera, six oratories and cantatas and seven instrumental concertos for: violin, bassoon, horn, clarinet, oboe, alto saxophone with piano duo, choral and vocal cycles.  He has also produced chamber music, music for children, music for theatre and music for films.  He composed, produced and performed in the world premiere of "A Shepherd Kept a Sheep on a Hill so High" for bagpipes, organ and symphony orchestra in Lincoln Cathedral in July 2004.
Two recordings of his early work are featured on this page and are highly rated by music critics.  (See: more about Egils Straume)  Fiesta is a complete album by the Egils Straume Jazz Combo produced in 1977 on a Russian record label (probably Melodiya) and he appears also with the "Egils Straume Trio" on the compilation album "Red Square Groove" put together by Zeljko Kerleta and released on the Cosmic Sounds label.
fiesta by egils straume jazz combo
1. Ekstraversija
2. Koralis
3. 1:07
4. Introversija
5. Fiesta
6. Zoria - Moria
7. Aditi
E. Straume: clarinet, saxophones and acoustic piano
H. Kiops: bass
K. Rutentals: electric organ
I. Birkans: flute, saxophones
U. Stabulnieks: keyboards
P. Mierlejs: trombone
G. Rozenbergs: trumpet, harmonica, flutes, percussion
M. Briezkalns: drums, percussion
 Red Square Groove
Red Square Groove with Egils Straume
1. Ekstraversija (Egils Straume Jazz Combo)
2. Dervish (Boomerang Band)
3. Dance Of The Bees (Dustar Band)
4. Ornament (Boomerang Band)
5. Bashkir Village's Blues (Ensemble Orlan)
6. Expectation (Alexander Rjabov Ensemble Synthesys)
7. Perpetum Mobile (Marina Granovskaja)
The Egils Straume Jazz Combo consists of Egils Straume, Maris Briezkalns and Ivar Galenieks.

Copies of Red Square Groove are sometimes available at Amazon UK (Link here --> Red Square GrooveRed Square Groove) and there is a review of Ekstraversija at the Daily Jazz as well as the write up on CosmicSounds.  There is a composition called Caprice (for Clarinet & Piano) by Egils Straume with the sheet music available from the MusicRoom if you search their site for "egils straume" or "caprice straume".  Unfortunately I can't find any copies of Fiesta available anywhere :o( although there is a review at the ProgNotFrog Blog.

Toxic Drums Share

© Sente Limited 2009